Universal Credits

Universal Credit is a new government benefit system, replacing six existing benefits with one overall payment. The scheme is gradually being rolled out across the UK, and is for those who are out of work or on a low income.

Universal Credit is replacing the following benefits:

  • Child Tax Credit
  • Housing Benefit
  • Income Support
  • Income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance (JSA)
  • Income-related employment and Support Allowance (ESA)
  • Working Tax Credit

You can read more about Universal Credit here. Alternatively, check out our FAQ section which will answer some of your most frequently asked questions.